Microsystem Mechanics  

UMD   This Site

(left to right) D. Gers, M. Gentry, R. Robinson, Dr. Anderson, M. Kirk, R. Murphy, Mrs. Anderson, P. Albuquerque; not pictured: M. Levashov

(left to right) D. Gers, M. Gentry, R. Robinson, Dr. Anderson, M. Kirk, R. Murphy, Mrs. Anderson, P. Albuquerque; not pictured: M. Levashov


The inaugural John D. Anderson Scholarship in Aerospace Engineering has been awarded to aerospace engineering senior, Madeline Kirk. The winner was announced at a luncheon April 18th following a Keynote by Dr. Anderson and his family. Michael Gentry (junior) received an honorable mention in the competition. Madeline will receive $1,000 and a plaque stating this honor.

Dr. Anderson, Professor Emeritus and a previous department chair, retired from the faculty in 1999. One of Dr. Anderson?s selfless contributions to his students was the establishment of the John Anderson Scholarship in Aerospace Engineering to assist and encourage undergraduate students majoring in aerospace engineering. The competition consisted of a paper submission and poster presentation on aerospace engineering research performed at the University of Maryland.

The following students competed for this award:

Paul Albuquerque (senior), advisor: Dr. Humbert

Michael Gentry (junior), advisor: Dr. Wereley

David Gers (senior), advisor: Dr. Yu

Madeline Kirk (senior), advisor: Dr. Akin

Michael Levashov (senior), advisor: Dr. Akin

Ryan Murphy (senior), advisor: Dr. Humbert

Ryan Robinson (junior), advisor: Dr. Wereley

The Anderson Scholarship Committee consisted of Dr. John Anderson, Mrs. Sarah-Allen Anderson, Dr. Alison Flatau, Dr. Norman Wereley, and Dr. Darryll Pines.

Madeline?s paper and poster was on Design and Development of a Docking System for a Small Free-Flying Robotic Vehicle. She performed her research at the Space Systems Laboratory under the direction of Dr. David Akin, Director of the SSL.


Dr. John D. Anderson, Jr., Professor Emeritus (AE), graduated from the University of Florida with High Honors and a Bachelor of Aeronautical Engineering Degree in 1959, and from The Ohio State University with a Ph.D. in Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering in 1966. He served as a Lieutenant and Task Scientist at Wright Field in Dayton (1959-1962), as Chief of the Hypersonics Group at the Naval Ordnance Laboratory in White Oak, Maryland (1966-1973), and became Chairman of the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Maryland in 1973.

After 1980 he served as Professor of Aerospace Engineering at Maryland, being designated a Distinguished Scholar/Teacher in 1982. In addition, in 1993 he was made a full faculty member of the Committee for the History and Philosophy of Science, and in 1996 an affiliate member of the History Department at the University of Maryland. In 1996 he became the Glenn L. Martin Distinguished Professor in Aerospace Engineering. He retired from the University in 1999, and was appointed Professor Emeritus. He is currently the Curator for Aerodynamics at the National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution. Dr. Anderson continues to teach undergraduate and graduate level courses at the University of Maryland, and gives lectures, seminars, and short courses at institutions domestically and abroad.

Dr. Anderson has published nine books, some in multiple editions, in the areas of aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, airplane performance, hypersonics, high-temperature gas dynamics, the history of aerodynamics, and the history of aeronautical engineering. He is the author of over 120 papers in radiative gas dynamics, re-entry aerothermodynamics, gas dynamic and chemical lasers, computational fluid dynamics, applied aerodynamics, hypersonic flow, and the history of aeronautics. He is an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Related Articles:
Aerospace Students Excel at 14th AIAA YPSE Conference
Five Aerospace Engineering Faculty Promoted to AIAA Associate Fellows
Two Seniors Receive Anderson Scholarship
Maryland Aerospace Students Win First Place in Four Categories
MX-2 Suit Research is featured in Popular Science
Project TURTLE Wins NASA Competition
University Honors Names Levashov as a Best Paper
Conference Yields Top Awards for Aerospace Undergraduates
RASC-AL space design team honored by department

April 20, 2008

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Celebrating Women in Aerospace Engineering: Pauline Annen

Aerospace Engineering Grad Student Wins SPIE Student Paper Award

Celebrating Women in Aerospace Engineering: Alison Flatau

Celebrating Women in Aerospace Engineering: Lisa Policastri

'Steer' the Turtle

UMD’s SeaDroneSim can generate simulated images and videos to help UAV systems recognize ‘objects of interest’ in the water

Celebrating Black Engineers: Hermann Kaptui Sipowa

Celebrating Black Engineers: Jeanette Epps

Maryland Engineers Awarded Grants to Address Humanity's Grand Challenges

Undergrad Hailu Daniel Selected for 2023 Matthew Isakowitz Fellow Program

Back to top  
ChBE Home Clark School Home UMD Home