Microsystem Mechanics  

UMD   This Site

The second annual John D. Anderson Scholarship in Aerospace Engineering has been awarded to aerospace engineering seniors, Breanne McNerney and Nicholas Woodside. Bree and Nick will each receive $1,000 and a plaque stating this honor. Dr. Anderson, Professor Emeritus and a previous department chair, retired from the faculty in 1999. One of Dr. Anderson?s selfless contributions to his students was the establishment of the John Anderson Scholarship in Aerospace Engineering to assist and encourage undergraduate students majoring in aerospace engineering.

The competition consisted of a paper submission and poster presentation on aerospace engineering research performed at the University of Maryland. The Anderson Scholarship Committee consisted of Dr. John Anderson, Mrs. Sarah-Allen Anderson, Dr. Alison Flatau, Dr. Norman Wereley, and Dr. Chris Cadou.

The following students participated in the poster presentation portion for this award:

Breanne McNerney: Smart Glove Development:Using Strain Sensors to Determine Hand Joint Angles; Advisor: A. Flatau

Nicholas C. Woodside: Rotor Tip Vortices at Low Vortex Reynolds Numbers; Advisor: J. Leishman

Ryan Robinson: Magnetorheological Energy Absorbers Employing a Valve Filled with Porous Media; Advisor: N. Wereley

Pranay Seshadri: Design and Development of an Insect based Flapping Wing Micro Air Vehicle; Advisor: I. Chopra

Seth O. Napora: Onboard Feedback Control for Autonomous Navigation of an Unmanned Submarine; Advisor: D. Paley

Steven A. Gerardi: System Identification of a Mechanical Samara; Advisor: D. Pines

Dr. John D. Anderson, Jr., Professor Emeritus (AE), graduated from the University of Florida with High Honors and a Bachelor of Aeronautical Engineering Degree in 1959, and from The Ohio State University with a Ph.D. in Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering in 1966. He served as a Lieutenant and Task Scientist at Wright Field in Dayton (1959-1962), as Chief of the Hypersonics Group at the Naval Ordnance Laboratory in White Oak, Maryland (1966-1973), and became Chairman of the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Maryland in 1973.

After 1980 he served as Professor of Aerospace Engineering at Maryland, being designated a Distinguished Scholar/Teacher in 1982. In addition, in 1993 he was made a full faculty member of the Committee for the History and Philosophy of Science, and in 1996 an affiliate member of the History Department at the University of Maryland. In 1996 he became the Glenn L. Martin Distinguished Professor in Aerospace Engineering. He retired from the University in 1999, and was appointed Professor Emeritus. He is currently the Curator for Aerodynamics at the National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution. Dr. Anderson continues to teach undergraduate and graduate level courses at the University of Maryland, and gives lectures, seminars, and short courses at institutions domestically and abroad.

Dr. Anderson has published nine books, some in multiple editions, in the areas of aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, airplane performance, hypersonics, high-temperature gas dynamics, the history of aerodynamics, and the history of aeronautical engineering. He is the author of over 120 papers in radiative gas dynamics, re-entry aerothermodynamics, gas dynamic and chemical lasers, computational fluid dynamics, applied aerodynamics, hypersonic flow, and the history of aeronautics. He is an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Related Articles:
AIAA Awards Received by Clark School Alumnus, Students
UMD Faculty, Student and Alumni Receive 2016 ASME Ephrahim Garcia Best Paper Award
Wereley Awarded 2015 AIAA NCS Marvin C. Demler Award
Wereley Elected SPIE Fellow
Wereley Lead Editor and Contributor for New Book on Magnetorheological Fluids
Dr. Alison Flatau to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award
Wereley Receives Engineer of the Year Award
Clark School Holds Spring 2009 Commencement
Film Cooling Recognized by Vid-Terp 2009
Louise Ahuré Wins SAMPE Paper Competition

April 13, 2009

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Work Hard, Dream Big

Sunderland Named Fellow of the Combustion Institute

Alumna Hosts First Ever Spanish-Language Show for a NASA Planetary Landing

Run the World Movement Challenge Honors Women Engineers

Search Initiated for New Clark School Dean

Unlocking the Mysteries of Fire ... in Space

UMD Alumni Jones, Laroia Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Making Success, and Giving, Seem Natural

University of Maryland Research Enterprise Ranked Among Top 10 Publics in NSF Higher Education R&D Survey

Equipping Drones to Recover When Things Go Wrong

Back to top  
ChBE Home Clark School Home UMD Home