Microsystem Mechanics  

UMD   This Site

Aerospace Engineering Ph.D. student Jacek Garbulinski receiving the GSG award from '21-'22 GSG President, Tamara Allard

Aerospace Engineering Ph.D. student Jacek Garbulinski receiving the GSG award from '21-'22 GSG President, Tamara Allard


Department of Aerospace Engineering Ph.D. student Jacek Garbulinski was recognized with an inaugural University System of Maryland Student Council (USMSC) Graduate Student Government (GSG) Outstanding Student Leader Award. Elected by the Graduate Student Government (GSG) Executive committee, award recipients are recognized for their outstanding efforts in both leadership and civic engagement.

Garbulinski is a 4th-year Ph.D. student and a Fulbright Scholar and served as Aerospace Engineering’s representative for the University of Maryland’s Graduate Student Government.

This year he served as the Chair of the International Student Affairs Committee and led efforts to support Ukrainian students at the University of Maryland following the country’s invasion. Specifically, he helped to organize the on-campus vigil and the student-led information panel. Garbulinski has been a strong advocate for supporting the inclusion of international students from underrepresented countries at the university by organizing events that foster mutual intercultural understanding.

In his academic career, Garbulinski works with Professor Norman Wereley in the Composites Research Laboratory, where his research focuses on control and structural properties of continuum soft robots that utilize pneumatic artificial muscles.

Garbulinski is also the 2021 Alexander Brown Scholarship and Leadership Award recipient, an award based on demonstrated innovative research practices, visionary leadership, and impressive effort in his or her academic pursuits.

Related Articles:
Zimmerman Wins Clark School Dean’s Research Award
Morcos Recognized with Graduate School Outstanding GA Award
Three UMD Students Named Among Aviation Week Network’s Class of 2024 20 Twenties
Six Clark School Faculty Receive 2024 DURIP Awards
Alumna Rose Weinstein Receives NASA Early Career Achievement Medal
Ashwani Gupta Named Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow
UMD's 40th Annual Convocation Honors Engineering Staff, Faculty
Colleen Murray Wins Award at Regional SAMPE Symposium
UMD Takes Second at VFS Design-Build-Vertical-Flight Competition
Planning for Planetary Defense

June 7, 2022

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Celebrating Asian Pacific Islander Desi American Heritage Month: Karenna Buco

UMD Student Awarded Wings Foundation Scholarship

UMD Eclipse Ballooning a Success

Seven Maryland Students Receive Vertical Flight Foundation Scholarships

Eclipse Ballooning: Phenomenon Provides Rare Opportunities

Three UMD Students Receive SAMPE Leadership Awards

Alum Named Distinguished Professor of Aerospace Engineering at PennState

UMD Professor and Alum Among 2024 VFS Awardees

Agents of Positive Change: Highlighting Women Maryland Engineers

Celebrating Women in Aerospace Engineering: Christine Hartzell

Back to top  
ChBE Home Clark School Home UMD Home